Sunday, July 31, 2011


Last July 19, 2011, the College of Physical Therapy faculty and staff spearheaded the Ground Breaking ceremony for the new Philippine School of Prosthetics and Orthotics (PSPO) building along Kapiligan Street in Quezon City. The event took place at the UERMMMCI Gymnasium and at the future PSPO site which is conveniently nestled behind the UERMMMCI College of Nursing building. Placing of the Time Capsule at the PSPO site: (Fr. L to R) Pres. Ester Garcia,
Dean Cabazor, Dr. Licuanan, Mr. Mike Scott, Dr. Lucio Tan, Dr. Divinagracia, and
Mayor Bautista

This important milestone in the path to sustainable and accessible services for persons with disability was graced by the Honorable Chairperson of the Commission for Higher Education, Dr. Patricia Licuanan, who was the guest speaker of the event. Other honored guests who attended included the Honorable Secretary Jesse Robredo from the Department of Interior and Local Government, the Honorable Mayor Herbert Bautista, Undersecretary Celia Yangco from the Department of Social Welfare and Development, and former Governor Grace Padaca, who also gave her response as a representative of the PWDs. Other important guests from the NGOs included Mr. Washington Sycip, Ms. Catherine Vasseur, the program director of Handicap International, the EVP and CEO of Tahanan Walang Hagdan,Ms. Joy Garcia, and Mr. Lauro Purcil, representative to the UN convention for the rights of the PWDs, to name a few. Proponents of the project also attended the event headed by the Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the UERMMMCI, Dr. Lucio Tan, UERMMMCI President, Dr. Romeo Divinagracia, Mr. Michael Scott, the Country Director of Cambodia Trust, and President Ester Garcia of UE-Manila.

The honored guests were led by the Dean of the College of Physical Therapy, Dr. Raquel Cabazor and Program Director, Ms. Helen Cochrane to place a time capsule at the future site of the PSPO building. The planned four-storey building made possible by the University of the East, will house the classrooms, technical and clinical laboratories and library of the Philippine School of Prosthetics and Orthotics. These facilities will be fully equipped and staffed with the generous support of the Nippon Foundation of Japan.

Chairman Lucio Tan and Vice-Chair Wilson Young ......................Mayor Bautista and Secretary Robredo

Former Governor Grace Padaca................................................ Mr. Mike Scott of Cambodia

Thursday, July 28, 2011

CPT Graduate Ranks 8th, College Garners High Passing Rate in July 2011 PT Licensure Examination

As announced by the Philippine Regulation Commission (PRC), 22 out of the 26 examinees from the College of Physical Therapy – University of the East-Ramon Magsaysay Memorial Medical Center, Inc. (CPT-UERMMMCI) passed the said examination with Mr. Jorrel R. Mendoza garnering the 8th place among the successful PT examinees in the recently concluded Physical and Occupational Therapists Licensure Examinations held in the cities of Manila and Cebu last July 23 and 24, 2011. The CPT-UERMMMCI once again proved its excellence by achieving an 84.62% passing rate, and having a top-notcher in the said exam. The national passing rate for Physical Therapy is 52.16%.

Mendoza rated 83.95% in the PT licensure examination, which made him rank 8th among the successful examinees. It came not as a surprise for the faculty members of the CPT that Mendoza would land a spot in the top 10 successful examinees since he was consistently excelling during his college years. He was a consistent top 10 student from 1st to 4th year and he also graduated top 8 of his class. His batchmates also expected him to standout in the licensure examination because they said he has considerably helped them during the review program by taking the initiative to coach them during their free time. He also exuded leadership during the review program by motivating his batchmates to persever

Mendoza expresses his gratitude to his review lecturers and coordinators who have guided him and sacrificed their time and efforts to make him and his batchmates achieve their feats. He most especially expresses his gratitude to his parents without whom he would not have attained his successes. Mendoza and his batchmates thank the CPT faculty and staff for mentoring and guiding them throughout their stay in the college.

The new Physical Therapists from the College of Physical Therapy-UERMMMCI are:

  1. Roanne Jaclyn Morales ACOSTA, PTRP
  2. Don Michael Vincent Leygo BAUTISTA, PTRP
  3. Kristine Bernadette Riego BERNARDO, PTRP
  4. Jaresh Anne de Castro BROSOTO, PTRP
  5. John Paul Lloren CAPISTRANO, PTRP
  6. Aldon Jimmy Carba CARIASO, PTRP
  7. Joshua Rodriguez CASTELO, PTRP
  8. Symon Jervis Ong CHAN, PTRP
  9. Jeremiah Matorres CRUZ, PTRP
  10. Napoleon Felix Desiderio ESCALONA, PTRP
  11. Nigel Paul Filler HORTALEZA, PTRP
  12. Anthea Grace Tan LO, PTRP
  13. Krisha Marie Alfaro MANALILI, PTRP
  14. Jorrel Roxas MENDOZA, PTRP
  15. Angelique Iniguillo MISA, PTRP
  16. Marina Chua NG, PTRP
  17. Robert Gerard Pascual OCAMPO, PTRP
  18. Creza Marie Historillo OFNGOL, PTRP
  19. Karen Zena Bartolome PEREIRA, PTRP
  20. Anna Theresa Leorna SANTOS, PTRP
  21. Leandrei Goodie Dalan TAN, PTRP
  22. Loretta Betrice Larosa TAN, PTRP
The New Physical Therapists from the College of Physical Therapy

y Yves Y. Palad, PTRP